How did you promote yourself?

For some odd reason I have been receiving a couple emails here
and there from local designers asking me how did I promote myself?
While this is very flattering I really don’t have a right or wrong answer.
I really don’t know how to answer these inquiries since I’m just starting
this process myself. To be nice, I did email them links and book suggestions
and said if they figure out any successful methods please share their
tips with me and others like themselves.

I think we always look to our peers or designers that have been in this
business for a long time to answer that age old question “How do I
promote myself.” If you look on other designers sites they really don’t
share their secretes of success. But while I was looking at Tara McPherson’s
site I noticed in her FAQ section she shares some great tips about how
she got her name out there.

She’s a pretty well known female designer in the art community. She has her
hands into everything and shows us artists / designers that there really are no
limits to what you can do.

After reading her FAQ section I really enjoyed the information she was
willing to share with others. It’s pretty informative and even gave me
some good ideas. I suggest taking a few minutes to read over it.

Instead of taking a long vacation this year I’m putting my time into
promotion and I’m looking forward to it. I hope by the end of this
year I’ll be able to share more tips when I receive emails asking me
to share advice and tips with them.

Leave a Reply

